The Kiln Goddess

The Open Kiln

Drum roll….The Open Kiln

Finished Glazed Koala Pots

Finished Glazed Koala Pots

Finished Glazed Cube Pots

Finished Glazed Cube Pots

Finished Koala Plant Pot with Succulent

Finished Koala Plant Pot with Succulent

Cube Plant Pots all finished and planted up

Cube Plant Pots all finished and planted up

The Goddess of the kiln has smiled kindly upon me and I have finished my koala and cube pots…finally. I have been learning how to fire and use the kiln,  and now I’ve successfully done that, I can go full steam ahead and fire work unsupervised. Watch out! I’ve been pretty happy with how they’ve all turned out. There are a few minor things to work on but on the whole I love going through all the processes and coming out with my own handmade things. The firing process really tests my patience though! At least when you cook in an oven you can have a peek every now and again but there is no way you can do that with the kiln. When the kiln is finished firing you still have to wait another 24 hours until you can actually unload and look at the work. Fingers crossed that when you open it, its all worked out.

Love and Art

Sarah-Jane

Leave a comment