You win some, you lose some.

Well I opened up the kiln with excitement and found a few problems unfortunately.

 

My cracked platter

My cracked platter

My big platter with Akrotiri inspired sparrows on it has a crack in it and I’m not sure I can do anything about it. Any suggestions??

 

Streaky underglaze

Streaky underglaze

I also found that an underglaze  I bought cheap at the clay supply store was cheap for a reason. It fired all streaky and uneven. I’m just wondering if I can apply a different underglaze on top now it’s been bisque fired and then clear glaze and fire it again to cover it up. Does anyone know?

 

See in the middle of this plate a white mark and also a bit of a ring where another pot was sitting on top of it in the kiln

See in the middle of this plate a white mark and also a bit of a ring where another pot was sitting on top of it in the kiln

Lastly, one of my favourite patterned plates has a white mark in the centre where the underglaze rubbed off. Can I add a new coat of coloured underglaze and clear glaze and then fire it again? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Koala pot yay!!

Koala pot yay!!

Pony brooches Yay!

Pony brooches Yay!

 

Finally, there were some winners. Two koala pots came out well, a couple of bowls and five little horse brooches I made, plus half a kiln load of kids work from classes I’ve taught came out fine so there will be no tears from the children at least. Only from me.

Love and Art
Sarah-Jane

Leave a Reply

