Bombing the Virgin

Virgin of the Offering Sculpture by  Émile-Antoine Bourdelle

Virgin of the Offering Sculpture by Émile-Antoine Bourdelle

Yarn bombed tractor

Rear view of tractor

Yarn bombed tree stump

Yarn bombed tree stump

Yarn bombed tricycle

Yarn bombed tricycle

Lipson Street, Port Adelaide

Lipson Street, Port Adelaide

Yarnbombed bike in my front yard

Yarnbombed bike in my front yard

 

Well, I’ve yarn bombed a few things in my time but this will be the first time I’ll be bombing a sculpture in the Art Gallery of South Australia by invitation!! Not a bad gig to get I must say! This is actually a beautiful sculpture called Virgin of the Offering by Émile-Antoine Bourdelle in the collection of the gallery. I hope the artist wouldn’t mind me altering it for one day.

This project is inspired by a lace exhibition which is about to open at the gallery and I’m going to attempt to use white lacy things to yarn bomb this sculpture in keeping with the lace theme. All my other projects have been done using a myriad of bright colours but this one will be a little different. I think it will look good keeping with the lace theme and be sympathetic to the original sculpture.

In conjunction with this yarn bombing I will be facilitating the making of about 300 pompoms with kids to get them involved in looking at the textiles in the gallery, the lace exhibition and in making some thing themselves.

The sculpture doesn’t look that big in the picture but it is at least life size if not a bit bigger and is on a large stone plinth in the courtyard of the gallery so it’s a big undertaking. We will need a scaffold to reach the top and although I’m not afraid of heights it’s not my favourite place to work. I’m hoping we can do a little stop motion video of the process, to post here for you all to see.

Keep your fingers crossed for me.

Love and Art
Sarah-Jane

Leave a Reply

