New Human Being, New Martian Creature

Softie toy

My latest Martian toy for my niece Violet

My gorgeous niece Violet at 10 weeks old

My gorgeous niece Violet at 10 weeks old

The proud Aunt and Violet

The proud Aunt and Violet

 

Just a quick post before I go off to teach at Ridley Grove Community Centre again today. I made this little softie toy for my new niece Violet yesterday. She’s sooooooooo cute. A really gorgeous girl. I’ve made lots of these softies over the years but haven’t made too many lately. The first one I ever made was for my ballet teacher when I was about ten years old and it was an owl from the Woman’s Day Craft book.

I’ve got a copy of that craft book I picked up in an op-shop ( or thrift store for those of you outside Australia). Op-shop is short for “Opportunity Shop” which is what we call them here because you have the opportunity to grab a bargain!! Woo Hoo. I’m going to find that book and post you a picture of it to show how far I’ve come in crafting.

I haven’t quite finished this Martian creature. I’ve got to embroider a mouth on it and make up a little story about it’s life and where it’s from. I do this every time I make a softie a people love. it.

Speaking of embroidery, off to teach it now.
Catch you soon.

Love and Art
Sarah-Jane

2 thoughts on “New Human Being, New Martian Creature

Leave a comment