Crochet Turkish style

image

image

image

image

These crochet necklaces and earrings were made in Turkey and I bought them on my recent travels. The women use a very fine crochet hook. Crochet is traditionally used to make lace edgings for scarves and home wares.
Those shown above were bought in Istanbul but I also saw these being made by an old lady near Pigeon Valley in Capadoccia, central Turkey. I’m kicking myself I didn’t buy more! This woman had lots and was selling them for a mere 5 Turkish lira each, which is the equivalent of about $2.50 Australian or U.S dollars!!!!!
She was selling a lot of touristy wares as well and doing the crochet for some extra money. It was one of the few times in my six weeks away I was on a tour with a group and although it was good I really find tours frustrating. We were so rushed I couldn’t stop and chat to this lady or even think about what I wanted to buy properly. I also felt like it would have meant a lot financially to this woman if I had had the time to think about buying a few more necklaces with what was small change for me….and I loved her work. On the positive side, its always an excuse to go back again and spend more time there next time though.
Love and art
Sarah-Jane

Leave a Reply

